BACABANA Election 2020

President-Vice President Panel Announcement Deadline: June 21, 2020
Election Date: July 1 – 7, 2020 (Online)
Voters: All members of BACABANA

Election Commissioner: Dr. Mahmun Hossain, Professor, UW-Milwaukee

Election Coordination Committee:

Md. Toufiqur Rahman (North Carolina)
Azhad Chowdhury (Tennessee)
Shariful Islam (Georgia)


The BACABANA Election process will be conducted by the following sections taken from the BACABANA constitution:

Article V: Election
Section 1
a. The president and vice president will be elected as a panel by the general members.
b. Vote will be online.
​c. To be a president or a vice-president, a minimum of two years of membership is required except for the first two central committees’ tenure.
Section 2
Chapter representatives will be voted by the members of the chapter. If someone leaves the chapter area permanently for job or any other purpose while acting as a chapter representative, the post will be replaced within a month.
Section 3
If the president and the vice-president are elected from the same chapter, then the chapter representative will be elected from the other members of the chapter.
Section 4
The chapter committee will be elected by the members of the chapter. The members will decide the number of committee members.
Section 5
The election commission will be composed of a chief election commissioner and four election commissioners nominated by the chief election commissioner.

Article VII: Manner of Election
Section 1
a. One member from the advisory board chosen by the executive committee will be the chief of the election commission.
b. The chief election commissioner will nominate the other four members of the election commission. c. No president and vice-president panel can raise objection against the nominated election commission.
Section 2
a. Biannually the election season will be June 1st to July 31st .
b. Panels should be announced on the BACABANA website by 12:00 am (CST) of 7th June of the election year.
c. Nominated panels will be announced on the website by 11:59 pm (CST) of 21st June of the election year.
d. The voting will start online from 11:59 pm (CST) of July 7th through 11:59 pm (CST) of July 14th .
e. Result will be announced on 15th July by 11:59 pm (CST).
f. By the first week of August of the election year, in an annual meeting, the new committee will be sworn in.

Article IX: Responsibilities
Section 6
Election commission:
a. The election commission will conduct the election and the sworn-in ceremony of the incumbent central committee.
b. The chief election commissioner will call and preside over the emergency central committee meeting, and conduct poll on the proposed impeachment of the president. [Detailed in Article XII, Section 1b]